Below are the rules for the Cóyotl Awards as of 2014 July 15:

  1. The Cóyotl Awards year shall begin on January 1 and end on December 31 of the year for which awards will be presented.
  2. Award Categories:
    1. The Cóyotl Awards shall be made in the following categories:
      1. Short Story: less than 20,000 words
      2. Novella: between 20,000 and 50,000 words
      3. Novel: more than 50,000 words
      4. Anthology
  3. Award Eligibility:
    1. All works first published in English during the calendar year, substantially featuring and/or focusing on anthropomorphic figures, may be eligible for the Cóyotl Awards:
      1. Works such as comic books, graphic novels, and similar type works shall be placed in an existing category as deemed appropriate by the Cóyotl Awards Chair, based primarily on their word count.
      2. The Cóyotl Awards Chair is empowered to determine the eligibility of a questionable work.
    2. A work may be eligible whether or not its authors are members of the FWG.
    3. A work that was previously self-published that has been published through an FWG-qualifying venue is eligible, so long as the following are true:
      1. It was not nominated when originally posted
      2. It is now being published in an FWG-qualifying venue for the first time.
    4. The author of any eligible work may withdraw it from consideration by contacting the Cóyotl Awards Chair by email at
  4. Award Nominations:
    1. All members of the FWG are eligible to make nominations during the nomination period. However, works may not be nominated by their authors, editors, publishers, or agents, by spouses or domestic partners of their authors, or by any other party with a monetary interest in the work.
    2. The nomination period will be determined and announced by the Awards Chair.
    3. Nominations will be accepted by email or through the online nominations form.
    4. Nominations shall be treated as confidential information; only the names of nominated works and numbers of nominations will be available for viewing by other members or the general public.
    5. Each eligible member may nominate no more than three different works per category and may not nominate any work more than once.
    6. The nominations will be reviewed by the Awards Chair who shall compose the final ballot.
  5. Award Judging:
    1. The Final Ballot for a calendar year shall be comprised of the four works with the most nominations in each category.
      1. In the event that zero works are nominated in a given category, then no award shall be given in that category.
      2. In the event that fewer than four works are nominated in a given category, then all works will be listed on the final ballot.
      3. In the event of a tie for the last place on the ballot in a given category, the size of the ballot may be expanded to include the tied works.
      4. The Awards Chair shall make the final ballot viewable and determine a window during which votes will be accepted not short than two weeks.  Votes will be accepted by email or online voting form.
    2. All members of the FWG in good standing will be eligible to vote.
    3. No more than one vote may be cast per category, per member.  In the event of multiple votes being received, the most recent one will be used.
    4. All votes will be tallied after the voting window closes.
    5. The work in each category that receives the most votes will be declared the winner.
    6. In the event of a tie after voting on the final ballot, the number of nominations received by each work will determine the winner. If the number of nominations is also tied, then the tie shall stand, and all such tied works shall receive the award.
    7. The winners of the Cóyotl Awards shall be announced at an annual Cóyotl Awards ceremony.
  6. Interpretation of these rules, and all questions regarding eligibility, withdrawals, nominations, ballots, etc. shall be decided by the Cóyotl Awards Chair.

Comments are closed.

Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.